Stories My Grandmother Told Me – 1

SONY DSC

I was born in winter. My aata and aaba were poor. We were all poor. My parents had no sugar or rock candy at home. They sweetened my mouth with bitter tea. It is because of that, that I am addicted to tea. I like to drink tea, even in summer.

*aata (n): Hazaragi for Father
*aaba (n): Hazaragi for Mother
*As per Hazara tradition, the parents feed newborns a solution of rock candy or ‘holy clay’ to mark the start of their dietary journey.

Leave a Reply

